Building Workflows
Sebastian Vowels avatar
Written by Sebastian Vowels
Updated over a week ago

Workflow Builder Overview

To access the workflow builder, either start a new workflow or edit an existing workflow. You need to have admin privileges of a workspace to create/edit workflows.

Title & Description

In the top left corner, you can edit the workflow's title or description.

Workspaces Selector

At the top, there is a dropdown field for choosing which workspace/s you would like the workflow to be accessible in. Only users who have been added into these workspaces will be able to see this workflow.

Form View vs Step View

At the top, you can toggle Form View on or off. This will set the default view in which the workflow will be displayed, however they can change the view depending on their preference at any time.

Saving & Publishing Workflows

Any changes you make to a workflow are automatically saved, including linked content, text changes, new steps, and modifying actions.

Once you are ready to make the workflow available, just click the publish button. This will ensure all users in the selected workspaces can see and start the workflow.

If you are updating an existing workflow, you can press the publish changes button to make the updated workflow available to users.


Creating & Customising Steps

You can customise steps from either the step itself or the step details panel (select add/edit actions).

Adding A Step

To add a new step, select the '+' button beneath a step, then choose new step. You can also do this in between steps.

Deleting A Step

To remove a step from the workflow, select the cog icon on the step, then choose delete.

Step Title

Above a step, there is a text field to enter a step title. This title will appear at the start of the step when a user is executing the workflow and can be a good way to surmise its contents.

Description

The description of a step is where instructional/informational text can be placed to guide the user on the activity they are performing.

You can also utilise basic markdown commands to alter how the text appears and functions:

Markdown Syntax

Element

Syntax

Output

Title

# My Title

My Title

Url

Bold

**Bold Text**

Bold Text

Italic

_Italic Text_

Italic Text

Attaching Content

Attaching content from your content library onto a step will have it appear within the workflow. This enables the workflow to provide both written and multimedia information to end users at the most relevant time during the process.

To attach content, either:

The content panel will appear, from here you can search your content library to find the right item. Once you've found it, select the content and press add to step.

Removing Content

To remove a piece of content from a step, simply select the trash icon next to the content.

This will only remove the link between the step and content, your content will not be deleted from the content library.

Actions

Actions enable users to provide information to facilitate reporting.

Steps have a number of different actions available, each enabled once per step, allowing any combination of steps to be activated.

To configure a steps actions, select add actions on the step.

To enable an action, simply toggle it on.

Decision Action

Decision actions facilitate branching pathways within workflows. Depending on which option a users selects, a workflow can deliver customised steps and information.

Colouring and flagging options are available. Decision actions are always mandatory and the steps after them will not be visible until an option has been selected.

After toggling on the decision action, the options listed in the text fields will correspond with the options a user is able to select. You can customise the text and add more options.

In the workflow canvas, you'll notice that the pathways appear under the step.

You are able to add new steps underneath each of these pathways with unique steps. These pathways can continue until the terminal, or can be merged back together.

To merge two or more pathways together, select the connect option from the '+' button and then select connect on the step you wish to merge that pathway to.

In the app, a decision action will appear like this:

Multi-choice Action

Multi-choice actions allow for users to select one or many options from a list of items.

Colouring and flagging options are available. Making this field mandatory is also available.

After toggling on the multi-choice action, the options in the text fields will correspond with the options a user is able to select. You can customise the text and add more options.

In the app, a multi-choice action will appear like this:

Text/Numerical Action

Text/Numerical actions allow users to provide written responses.

You can make this field mandatory.

By default, the text/numerical action will accept any entry provided. You can limit it to accept only numerical values and decimal places by selecting the numbers and decimal only checkbox.

There are a number of validations and restrictions you can apply to this action.

Acceptable Range

This option is only available if the action is limited to numerical values (see above).

You are able specify what an acceptable range is for numerical values. If the value they provide is outside the provided range, it will be highlighted in the report.

Additionally, you can toggle on the restrict inputs option. This will force the validation rule to be applied to all text entered into the field. If a user enters a number outside the acceptable range with restrict inputs toggled on, and attempts to finish the workflow or move to the next step, they will be presented with an error on this step indicating that the validation rules were not met. This ensures that only values within the acceptable range are captured during a workflow.

Exact Length

You are able to specify how many characters should be included in a response. If the response they provide is more or less than the provided character length, it will be highlighted in the report.

Additionally, you can toggle on the restrict inputs option. This will force the validation rule to be applied to all text entered into the field. A user will be unable to enter anything into the text field beyond the designated character limit.

Upload Media Action

The upload images or videos action enables users to provide multimedia content to supplement the report.

This action can be made mandatory.

By enabling this option, users will be able to:

  • capture a photo,

  • capture a video,

  • or upload a image or video from the devices memory

In the app, an upload media action will look like this:

Sketch Pad Action

The sketch pad action enables users to draw diagrams or capture signatures.

This action is only available within the HINDSITE mobile app. This action can be made mandatory.

By enabling this option, users will be able to enter a drawing space to record/document what is asked of them within that step.

In the app, a sketchpad action will look like this:

Optional & Required Actions

By default, all actions within a workflow are optional. You can make an action mandatory by selecting the make input required checkbox on a compatible action.

Once an action has been marked as mandatory it will change how a user interacts with it depending on how they are viewing the workflow.

If they are in Step View, they will not be able to progress to the next step until all mandatory actions have been actioned.

If they are in Form View, they will not be able to complete the workflow until all mandatory actions have been actioned.

When executing a workflow, a user can tell if an action is mandatory by the asterisk.
โ€‹

Report Colouring & Flagging Options

Some options within actions allow for colouring and flagging to be applied in the report.

If a user were to choose a 'flagged' option during the workflow, this will be listed at the top of the report underneath 'flagged options'.

Additionally, you can customise the colouring of options within the report by selecting the colour picker. The colour you choose will highlight the option a user has selected.

Terminals

The terminal step designates the end of the workflow.

To add a terminal step, select the '+' beneath a step and then select terminal.

All branching pathways must connect to a terminal before the workflow can be published. The publish button will be greyed out if a terminal is missing within the workflow.

Modifying Report Text

By default, the text within a steps description will be displayed in the report. You can modify this text without changing the step description by overriding it.

To do this, in the step details panel, select override description in final report with alternative text.

In the report description text field that appears, you can edit the text that is presented on this step within the report.

Did this answer your question?